Meet the Optimists

Club History

Since the creation of the Optimist Club of Green Bay in 1947, the Club has supported a huge volume of community activities for the benefit of youth, Club members, and the entire community.  From the very beginning, the Club was involved in helping with their problems, providing direction, and creating and supporting great youth activities.  Hundreds of Optimist programs and events benefit the community.  In Green Bay 60 and 70 years ago, our programs included organization of a school patrol, a model airplane club, national soapbox derby competitions, and many sporting events, including a sailing club, a fishing rodeo, and Little League baseball.  The Club’s track record for over 70 years is amazing and continues to be as strong as it was 70 years ago with its current programs, including the DARE program, school and family support for inner-city youth, Little League baseball and youth softball leagues, college scholarship program, and school youth running program.  Also, for over 70 years, Club members have benefited by their participation in the Club through its leadership opportunities and social benefits.

Current Membership

Alex Fiel

Alex Oestreicher

Allan Fromm

Andrea Madson

Ben Malcore

Ben Sorensen

Foundation Board Member

Beth Lemke

Bill Bohrer

Club Board Member
Foundation Board Member
Past President

Bill Dyer

Bob Buss

Foundation Board Member

Brenda Wolff

Club Board Member

Bryan Milz

Charles Dahle, III

Christine Williquette

Courtney Biersteker

Dan Heling

Dan Madigan

Club Board Member
Foundation Board Member

David Crevcoure

Foundation Board Member

Dennis Schmitt

Evan Madson

Foundation Board Member

Jim Glover

Club Board Member
Foundation Board Member

Joe Schiegg

Foundation Board Member

John Dyer

Internal Vice-President

John Wetli

Club Board Member
Foundation Board Member

Jon "Jack" Le Duc

Club Board Member

Kate Dewick

Ken Lindemann

Lindsey Kabat

External Vice-President
Foundation Board Member

Mel Polarek

Neal Van Ess


Nicholas Spude

Nick Zerillo

Foundation Board Member

Pat Ryan

Sergeant At Arms
Foundation Board Member

Paul Strand


Perry Faulkner

Rob Axford

Robert Hammer

Ron Metzler

Foundation Board Member

Sandi VanSistine

Scott Tarsi

Club Board Member

Shannon Madigan

Sheryl Biersteker

Club Board Member

Steve Jones

T. Michael Murphy

2018 Banquet


Join us and change the course of a child's life today!

Skip to content